The history of Falls Church High School begins with its predecessor, the Thomas Jefferson Institute that dates back to the 1870's, in the town of Falls Church. Originally an elementary school, In 1926 it became Jefferson high school. Fourteen years later, in October 1942, the Fairfax County School Board purchased land on Hillwood Avenue in the town of Falls Church and began construction of a new high school in 1944 during WWII. This school opened in September 1945 and was officially named Falls Church High School. When Falls Church incorporated as an independent city in 1948, its school district separated from Fairfax County Public Schools, however Fairfax County retained ownership of Falls Church High School even though it was within the city limits. In 1967, Falls Church High School moved to its present location into a building that originally opened in 1959 as John Greenleaf Whittier Intermediate School, on Marc Drive.
What is the origin of the name Falls Church?
Explore the early years of FCHS yearbooks
Explore the early years of Jaguar Journal and Jagwire Papers